Oki Islands Part 2/3 – Nishinoshima, Day 1

The following day, I headed out on the first boat to Nishinoshima, this time the fast “Rainbow Jet” that only took 30 mins, as I was still feeling a little woozy from the slow rocking of the ferry the day before.

I had a quick stop in at the tourist office, where a lovely woman called Nicola, who I’d been emailing beforehand about rental cars and campsites, met me and gave me all of the information I’d need for the next couple days. I literally can’t emphasise enough how helpful the staff were there, I confess they really helped to make Nishinoshima better than Dogo.

After a brief wait at the bus stop, I hopped on to Urago port, where I picked up the keys for the campsite (for the showers and the boxes with the necessary plugs) and walked my way over.

IMGP9011

The view was simply stunning, and the facilities – minus a couple of spiders in the toilets – were top notch. I unpacked my tent (had a mini-breakdown as the elastic in one of the tent poles had snapped, but pushed them together of sheer will and it worked itself out), and then headed into town for a gentle stroll and to find food.

On the way back, a lovelly little old man in his truck stopped and asked if I wanted a lift. I wasn’t about to say no, so I got in and he took me to his most recommended spot nearby – Yurahime Shrine. It was pretty stunning, I have to say, and felt simpler than most shrines, but in a nice way, and I enjoyed wandering round for a good ten minutes or so.IMGP9015

Near the shrine was also Yurahima Bay – where every year, a huge number of squid appear. It is said that before one accidentally stung the princess Yurahima, and they come back every year in apology. IMGP9020

I then went for a walk around the town, finding good views from hidden back-streets, and friendly residents who’d always say hello, or the occasional child who’d yell it out in English whilst staring in amazement. IMGP9025

Once I’d tired myself out there, I headed for the local izakaya that had been recommended by Nicola. I was the only one there at the start as it was still only 5:30, but I was a little tired and also very hungry. To my great delight, the owner just kept giving me free food whenever I’d mention I’d never tried the local specialities before, and also a couple of free beers.

A few other people came in and chatted, but as it hit around 7:00, it was also starting to get dark, and I could feel the alcohol buzzing in my veins which meant I should probably get back before I couldn’t see anything and accidentally fell in the harbour or something. The locals were sad to see me go, and were worried about me camping alone, which was more lovely than I could say. I enjoy travelling alone and having all of that “me-time”, but it is also always amazing when you find and talk to strangers who let you in without a single moment of hesitation.

IMGP9035

But with views like this I was glad I went back when I did, and after a quick shower and a read of a book by the last vestiges of sunlight, I turned off the lantern and settled in for an excellent night’s sleep.

IMGP9041

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

