Kanba Falls (神庭の滝)

Kanba Falls is one of my favourite places in all of Maniwa. Located in Katsuyama, deep in the heart of a valley, whenever I drive up there I am amazed that it was ever found at all, and awed by the people who – so long ago – managed to move to the area and thrive.

Standing at over 100m tall and 20m wide, Kanba Falls is one of the tallest waterfalls in West Japan, and is also named as one of Japan’s top 100 waterfalls. Cheap to enter (300yen), with a short 10 min walk surrounded by lush greenery and the river that comes from the waterfall, it is the perfect place to just take a breather.

19264011_1706277782719122_761942072_o.png

Even in the pouring rain, the mist shrouds the area in mystery, and personally I find it even more stunning then, even as my shoes are squelching with every step.

The only thing that I am disappointed in is the fact that I haven’t yet been able to see the resident monkeys that hang around the falls on random days – despite being almost 6 times now (especially when friends on Facebook come up for a single day and get to take all of the epic photos).

But I suppose it won’t be a hardship to just keep going back until I do, not with views like this, anyway.

19403605_1706279656052268_2126735306_o.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

